Lytham Town Trust

Lytham Assembly Rooms,
Dicconson Terrace, Lytham, Lancashire FY8 5JY

Tel: 01253 795229 (24hr Answerphone)

{short description of image}

Lytham Hall

Lytham Hall Website

Assembly Rooms

What's what?

Who's who?


Lytham Town Trust Board
September 2013

LTT Board
From L to R: Dennis Leyland, Tim Ashton, Steve Singleton, Alan Ashton, Stan Kitt, Pam Greenhill,
Alan Turner, David Gill, Damian Clarke, Audrey Kirby, Bob Smith

Aims and Constitution of the Trust

is a

It was incorporated the 19th July 1990 under
THE COMPANIES ACT 1985 (Company number 2523744).

Within the MEMORANDUM and ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION, the objects for which the Trust is established are:

(i) Firstly to preserve for the benefit of the inhabitants of Lytham in the County of Lancashire and of the nation at large, whatever of the English historical, architectural and constructional heritage may exist in and around Lytham aforesaid in the form of buildings (including any building as defined in Section 290 (1) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1971) of particular beauty or historical, architectural or constructional interest.

(ii) Secondly to provide recreational facilities, community centres and other amenities of a similar character for the benefit of the community residing in Lytham in the County of Lancashire in the interests of social welfare and with the object of advancing education, furthering health, relieving poverty, distress or sickness or in pursuing any objects which now are or hereafter may be deemed in law to be charitable by improving the conditions of life of the persons residing within Lytham.

The Board of Directors is constituted as eight persons nominated by members of the Company, one nominee from each of five local groups and one person co-opted at the discretion of the Board. The Board has appointed an executive committee, and two of its members are members of the Lytham Hall executive committee of the Heritage Trust for the North West.

The current members of the Company are:


Alan Ashton Mr Alan Ashton
Honorary Life President
Born: Lytham. Served in the 6th Airborne Division Para Unit,
Family Business – Ashton’s of Lytham
Founder member and continuing Chairman of the Lytham Heritage Group, overseeing the conversion of Lytham Windmill into a museum.
Established the Lytham Heritage Centre.
Founding member of Lytham Town Trust and as Chairman, responsible for creation of Lytham Assembly Rooms from the Lytham Bath’s building.
Chairman of the committee responsible for the purchase of Lytham Hall.
Honorary Life President of Lytham Town Trust.
Awarded MBE in the year 2000 for services to heritage and the LETS 2004 award for Commitment to Industry.
Damian Clarke Mr Damian F Clarke
Chairman of Assembly Rooms committee
Joined the family's Lytham retail business in 1984; a director from 1991 to the present.
Previously a director of Associated Independant Stores.
Happily settled in Lytham for last 30 years with Jenny and three children.
David Gill Mr David K Gill
Chairman & Treasurer
LTT representative on board of HTNW
A Chartered Accountant who has been in private practice in the North West for more than 30 years during which time he has specialised in charity and not-for-profit clients.
Other appointments currently held include Chairman of the Winckley Square Community Interest Company and a member of the Progress Housing Group Board.
Founder member of Lytham Town Trust; has previously been Secretary.
Stan Kitt Mr Stan C Kitt
LTT representative on board of HTNW
Born Lytham. King Edward VII School, Lytham.
Apprentice engineer Bosch/ Germany 1969
Joined family confectionery business in 1973;
Managing Director 1986, Chairman 1989, Retired 2001.
Mr Chris J C Hewitt
Executive Director responsible for the property portfolio
An architect, qualified 1984 and in private practice based in Lytham since 1990, specialising in work in and around the Fylde area, particularly in conservation areas.
Steve Singleton Mr Steve Singleton
Former editor of the Lytham St Annes Express.
St Annes born and bred, he worked for The Gazette for 38 years after leaving Kirkham Grammar School.
A former chairman of Lytham Round Table he is current vice-chairman of Lytham St Annes 41 Club.
He has written or edited a number of books including: 'Images of Lytham St Annes'; 'Story of the Fylde'; 'Blackpool -Then and Now' and 'Blackpool's Seaside Stars'.
Bob Smith Mr R (Bob) A C Smith
Retired from BAESYSTEMS Military Air & Information when Engineering Director Combat Air,
Vice-Chairman, Friends of Lytham Hall
Phillip Sycamore His Hon Judge Philip Sycamore is a Circuit Judge.
Has lived in Lytham since 1980 and was a solicitor in private practice until 2001 when appointed as a judge.
From 1997 to 1998 was the President of the Law Society of England and Wales.
Alan Turner Mr Alan L Turner
Elected to the Board in 1998 and has throughout been a member of its Executive and the Lytham Hall Management Executive. Now a retired solicitor but still involved in all the Trust's legal affairs.
Other interests include church pastoral care and bereavement support, playing member and trustee of Lytham Bowling Club, singing in a number of local choirs, trekking and and keeping fit with the YMCA.
Tim Ashton County Councillor Tim M Ashton
Nominee - Fylde Borough Council
Born Lytham, Catholic College in Preston.
Merchant Navy (4 Years)
University of Leeds, B Sc Mechanical Engineering
Lecturer, Fleetwood Nautical College
Lancashire County Councillor in May 2005
Currently Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport.
Pam Greenhill Mrs Pamela M Greenhill
Nominee - Friends of Lytham Hall
Audrey Kirby Mrs Audrey Kirby
Nominee - Lytham Heritage Group
Director of an energy consultancy until retirement in 1993
Mr Malcolm Burnett
Nominee - Lytham St Annes Civic Society
Mr Mark Parkinson
Honorary Life Vice-Presidents Mr Geoff Burras
Mr Alan Bushell
Registered office Bank House, 9 Dicconson Terrace,
Lytham St Annes, FY8 5JY
Auditors Ashworth Treasure Limited, 19 Park Street,
Lytham St Annes, FY8 5LU
(Return to TOP OF PAGE)